• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Completely New

This topic is 4769 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have no experience, in any form, in game programming. I am a high school student and would love to get into this field for entertainment and possibly a career. I was wondering if someone would tell me of some good software for beginners. I would really appreciate this. Thank you in advance.

Advertisement
For a free C++ compiler, you can download Dev C++ at www.bloodshed.net
I personally use Microsofts Visual C++.

You can also download Python at www.python.org

If you know what language you want to start with, you could do a google search for it and there should be a ton of stuff. Most people recommend Python for a first language. However, I would recommend C++.

Guest Anonymous Poster
I would recomend C# (but only because thats what I program in and Im in high school). And for software if you can afford it I would go with "Microsoft Visual Studios" or "Visual C#" or "Visual C++" or "Visual 'Whatever laguage you diside to go with'".

I went with "Microsoft Visual C#". I blew my hole life savings on it but I don't sujest doing somthing that stupid. but if you got an extra 6 - 7 hundred dollars lieing around thats great, go out and get it.

I would recommend that you learn something simple like Python or FreeBASIC first, just to get your bearings, then move on to C++. If you're jumping straight into C++, I recommend Dev-C++ or MinGW Developer Studio. Both you can download for free off the internet. Same with Python and FreeBASIC.

Quote:
Original post by Anonymous Poster
I would recomend C# (but only because thats what I program in and Im in high school). And for software if you can afford it I would go with "Microsoft Visual Studios" or "Visual C#" or "Visual C++" or "Visual 'Whatever laguage you diside to go with'".