• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Storing Objects in a game

This topic is 4773 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, this is my first time post and the first time i really start to program a game :) Anyways i searched the forum but didnt realy found a propriate answer I'm making some kind of "operating system" in my game for the user. This operating system can run small games and programs that are deliverd with the game itself, let's say for example tetris and hangman :d How do i store most op the options for those programs? I was thingking about a class like monsters are stored in a game, but i'm not 100% familiar with this technique. Do i create the class object at the startup of my game or just when they are needed, for example when the user wants to starts the program (tetris). Thx in advance P.S. if my question is not clear tell me :)

Advertisement
The question is troubled by using the term OS. What you probably want is a sort of command-line interface for launching certain games. Essentially this has little to do with OSs.

As for the design. Just sit down for an hour or so and write down, for each game, concepts that come to mind. Like monsters, enemies, weapons, levels, etc. Later on, revisit and consider each object more thoroughly. Then, even later, draw relationships and throw out concepts that don't fit.

This is an informal way of design, related to brainstorming. With some experience it will give reasonably good designs. However, experience comes with practice so just try a design you have worked out. Then, when it fails, find out why.

Both your suggestions seem quite good. Launching the game (i.e. instancing its main class) should in my opinion been done on launch from the command line and not beforehand. Also, Monster seems like a reasonable class for nearly any game design involving monsters.