• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
rockz

Programming a renderer

This topic is 4952 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im new with programming i start learn some languages in this year but im not new with 3d. I wanna know what i need to programming a renderer (i know its difficult but i can start =P). I start with c++ and opengl but someone said to me that opengl is only a scanline render, if i wanna add some features like a raytrace or a global illumination, can i use opengl and c++? Or i need other thing to make this, like a library? I found some stuffs about renderer, raytrace but the basic, what applications, softwares, librarys and other stuffs i need to start programming a renderer i dont found. Please someone help me. Sorry for my english.

Advertisement
Raytracing works backwards by starting at your eye, and moving outward until they intersect with something. For any light sources, you can generate a normal vector from the light source to the intersection point, calculate the dotproduct between that and the normal of the intersection point, and use that to shade it. You can also cast a ray from the intersection point to the light to see if there's anything casting a shadow on that point. For reflections, reverse your ray and rotate it around the intersection point's normal, and continue. You repeat this for every pixel. You can also use multiple rays per pixel and average them together to create a nice smooth antialiased image.

You can do all that with just C++, although you'll want some way to see what you've done. If you want to use OpenGL to display the result, that's fine. It won't be so much rendering as drawing little dots on the screen for each of the rays you calculated.

I use c++ to calculate the rays (reflections, intersections, etc.) of light source and i use opengl to draw pixel per pixel, is it?