Sign in to follow this  

Need Help Understanding Classes

This topic is 4596 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, im still relatively new to c++ programming and programming in general, and was hoping for some help. I've looked at a bunch of examples of user written classes and still kind of confused about it. Since im pretty big with gaming i figure if someone has a gaming example of a class could you show me :). Any help would be appreciated.

What exactly are you confused about? Use? Syntax? Properties?

A class represents a concept. It has members that help you implement that concept. Here's an example : a tank from an RTS game (no guarantee this code will compile):

//This is the class declaration - this would go into your tank.h file
class Tank
{
// The public elements of a tank are all those things that other program components can access
public:
// First we need a constructor and destructor
Tank(const Vector2& location);
~Tank();
// What can tanks do?
void Move();
void Move(const Vector2& where);
void Shoot();

// And some accessor and mutator functions
Vector2 GetLocation() const {return position_;}
void TakeDamage(int damage);

// The private elements of the class provide the means of the classes implementation
// Other classes don't access these members, as they have no need to
private:
// First let's store some information about a specific tank
Vector2 position_;
float speed_;
int ammo_;
int health_;
// Now lets add a helper function that will help with our implementation
Tank& FindClosestTarget();
};

// Now we need to provide definitions for all the functions - these will be in your tank.cpp file

// The constructor
Tank::Tank(const Vector2& position) : position_(position), speed_(1.0f), ammo_(10), health_(10) {}

// The destructor
Tank::~Tank() {}

void Tank::Move(const Vector2& where)
{