Sign in to follow this  

[java] SDK 1.5?

This topic is 4598 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

What version of Java is everyone using now for game development? I am still learning and using 1.4.2 because thats that version that the book I was learning from used, but I'm wondering if I should move on to 1.5? I also read that the worst thing about java sofar(mind you this was before 1.5) is that it doesn't have very accurate timers. I also read that this was supposed to be fixed in version 1.5, was it? thanks for any help. -Jake

1.5 does include a *much* more accurate timer than 1.4 does, which is pretty handy given that the default 1.4 timer is far too low resolution on windows.

However! 1.5 introduces lots of cruft and features which are not universally liked. Perhaps more importantly it's unlikely that your players will actually have 1.5 installed, whereas 1.4 is much more common.

You'll probably find the majority of people are using 1.4 and some other method for timing, if you're using LWJGL (highly recommended!) then that has a cross-platform high-res timer you can use. Or you can use the GAGE timer which just provides a more accurate timer.

Also, see here.