Sign in to follow this  

What OOP pattern to use?

This topic is 4598 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm fairly new to C++ OOP, so I need help decided if/what pattern to use for my situation. This is probably very easy, and my brain is just cloudy. I have class A. Class A needs to perform operations on class X, so it has an aggregation relationship. Now, class Y and Z perform the same operations as class X, and class A may want to use Y or Z instead. Okay, easy solution. You have interface I that X, Y, and Z inherit from. Class A then has a member variable of type interface I. And then calls I->foo(). But, what if class A may need to call X and Y, or X and Z, or all three? The only way I can think of is to have a bit-field that has USE_X USE_Y and USE_Z bits. Then create an aggregate member variable of each class type X, Y, and Z. Then do an if on USES field against each bit, if true, call X->foo(), Y->foo(), or z->foo(). But there has to be a more OO way to do this. Unfortunately my GoF book isn't with me (of which I have read very little, which I now regret.) Thanks!

Your post is a bit confusing, but if I understand what you are trying to do correctly, then I think you want something like this: X, Y, and Z inherit from I. Each instance of class A has a reference/pointer/handle (depending on the language) to an object that implements interface I. Each instance of A can then make use of X, Y, or Z simply by making the pointer point to an object of the appropriate type. If that is not what you are looking for, you will probably have to be clearer about what your problem is, as I can read your post several different ways. Hope that helps.

Quote:
Original post by Chris81
Hello,