[.net] Appending to RichTextBox in secondary TabPage (C#) - Threading Issue

Started by
4 comments, last by jods 18 years, 11 months ago
Well, Im new to C#, but a big c++ coder. I like it very much so far though. My problem here is that I have 2 RichTextBoxs. One is on the first tab, and the other on the second tab. When the user hits the Go button at the bottem it writes(.Appends()) to both of these RichTextBoxes (one is for status info the other for the output). Well if the user just hits go without selecting the second tab ever, no output is ever put (appended) to that second RichTextBox. Now if you click that tab first, and then can even switch it back (doesnt matter) then it will work just fine, writing to both. But Id like to clear up this bug so a user doesnt have to select that tabpage first. I tried things like programmaly selecting that second tabpage (and then maybe even setting it back to the first) but this causes some wierd overlay problems and then leads to it crashing often. (Tabs.SelectedIndex = 1;) I tried may things to try and just get focus to that non-visible second RichTextBox to make it able to write to. Any ideas on how to solve this problem would be great. Thanks a bunch. *EDIT* ok, I found out the problem, It has to do with the fact that I am running my recursive algorithm in a separate thread (to not lock up the programs other controls). If i dont run this in a thread, and just call the function, It works fine. I still dont understand why though... I really want it to run in a separate thread. A cheap fix I have for it now is: int currentTabIndex = Tabs.SelectedIndex; Tabs.SelectedIndex = 1; Tabs.SelectedIndex = currentTabIndex; but again, this cannot be done in the thread, but must be done before it. This is the function that does all the Appends the the second RichTextBox (StatusTB2). In the SendCommand() and RecieveCode() functions all the Appends to the first RTBox (StatusTB) occur. private void RecursiveDirectoryList(int level, String