Sign in to follow this  

An idea for renderstate managements

This topic is 4590 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am quite new to the idea of state management, but I know that it is pretty important for keeping speed. I was wandering about what is the best of rendering while keeping state changes to a minimal. I have come up with a theory of state management that works on a stack system. Any comments are greatly apriciated! Basically, my engine consists of entities like meshs, etc. You can set certain properties on these entities - wireframe, fullbright, and so on. My idea was to create another thread and have a continuous loop on this thread, that orders the entities for rendering. The loop on this thread will find out all of the state changes that are used. Then it will create stacks to render the entities, depending on the states used. It's kind of hard to explain, so below is a diagram that explains what I mean. In this example, the renderer would push the first state change on, push the second state, and push the third. Render all these entities, pop back to the second state, render these entities, pop to the first and then render the remaining entities. The same would happen for the second stack in the diagram (illustrated as a pyramid-type thing). ------------------------------------------------------ So, does this sound like a good idea? The reordering would take place on a second thread so hopefully - speed wouldn't be lost toooo much. Thanks, aCiD2

This seems very similar to what we used in Midtown Madness 3.
Basicly we packed states that was likely to change at the same time into 32-bit words, to scan for a change we first tested the words against eachother, if they differed we tested the individual states (we actually went further than that).