• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
leonheart

C++ complex gaming

This topic is 4840 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

im quite new to this and would like to no if i can make games like doom 3 or half life 2 by using C++ thanx in advance

Advertisement
yes you can. I'd set my sights on something a little lower in scale though if your just beginning... =)

Yes, it can be done and is in fact what has been done.
Now, can you do it? Not yet. Eventually? Maybe.

Forum FAQ

For a beginner, my recommendation is to learn how to use Python and PyGame. You probably won't make Doom3 with them, but it'll get you started.

Yes, by utilizing C++ as your language of choice, you are able to make complex games such as those, but C++ does not make the games itself, you will need a lot of other stuff before you can have a game. Take a look at this thread. Yes it talks about a game engine, but all of that applies to a game as well [wink].

Hey Leonhart,

Yes: theoretically its possible to make professional games with C++, but in the long run it takes a very long time and a great effort to even realize simple games if you are new.
You should first decide if C++ is the right language for the things you want to do (a few helpful aspects can also be found here). If you are sure C++ is for you, I recommend you to start with internet tutorials or books to get into the language; I cant help you here because I dont know good English programming books.

You would also need an OS-specific C++ compiler to start programming. Most people with windows use Microsoft Visual C++, but you can also use a non-commercial compiler.

If you already know a bit about programming, Nehe's Game Tutorials are a good place to start with C++ game programming.

rgds,
Phex.

EDIT: omg, am I slow...