• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Slider38

I need a little help

This topic is 4835 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Folks, I've been working on a program for a while (thousands of lines), and I finally had to replace my computer. I re-installed my VC++ and moved my program to the new box, but now it doesn't run. When I try to compile any of it, I get errors like this - error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'lpdi'. error C2501: 'LPDIRECTINPUT7' : missing storage-class or type specifiers. fatal error C1004: unexpected end of file found. These all occur on the same line. I'm leaving out a bunch of the non-issue stuff, but the program goes into heart failure when it hits the LPDIRECTINPUT7 lpdi = NULL; line. To complicate matters, I'm new to winXP. The new pc came with DirectX 9. I was previously using DirectX 7a. I also installed the DX8sdk. I'm wondering if this problem is due to the version of DirectX on my computer. With WinXP, I don't even know where to find the DX files to see what's in them. At any rate, I thought that DirectX was backwards compatible. Any thoughts on what would be causing these errors would be appreciated. Thanks Slider // INCLUDES /////////////////////////////////////////////// #define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN // just say no to MFC // You need to tell DirectInput if you're using v7.0 or less #define DIRECTINPUT_VERSION 0x0700 #define INITGUID // GLOBALS //////////////////////////////////////////////// HWND main_window_handle = NULL; // globally track main window HINSTANCE hinstance_app = NULL; // globally track hinstance int window_closed = 0; // tracks if window is closed char buffer[80]; // used to print text // directinput globals LPDIRECTINPUT7 lpdi = NULL; // dinput object LPDIRECTINPUTDEVICE7 lpdikey = NULL; // dinput keyboard LPDIRECTINPUTDEVICE7 lpdimouse = NULL; // dinp