• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
InsaneBoarder234

2 Questions: Missing D3D Framework + Multiple Direct3D Devices

This topic is 4840 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Please forgive me if I'm asking stupid questions as I am still a newbie with Direct3D, a little help here will help to get me away from this stage and away from asking newbie questions :) Firstly, I am reading the book "Strategy Game Programming With DirectX9" and a lot of the examples use the Direct3D framework (d3dapp.cpp, d3denumeration.cpp, d3dfont.cpp, d3dsettings.cpp, d3dutil.cpp, dxutil.cpp). These files are apparantly in the path "DXSDK_Base\Samples\C++\Common" but they don't seem to be anywhere on my computer let alone in the DX9 SDK installation directory. Due to me not having these files I cannot compile the example source code from the book. I have the October 2004 version of the SDK because I heard it is the last version that supports Visual C++ 6 and the writer of this book says the code is compatible with VC6 and not VS.NET. Can anyone send me these files or tell me where I can download them please? Thanks very much! :) Secondly, I wanted to ask if it is possible to use several Direct3D devices in one program. So for example in a 2D map editor program that uses D3D to render tiles, could i have one Direct3D device control rendering of a tileset to one window and another device control rendering of the tile map to another window? Or would I have to use a single Direct3D device for all rendering in the application? Again, thanks very much for any help i receive.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by InsaneBoarder234