• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jpetrie

MD2 Triangle Adjacency

This topic is 4833 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I need to compute a triangle adjacency table (e.g., for a given triangle at index n with a mesh, what are the three triangle indices that share the edges of triangle n). My algorithm is detailed below. The problem I am running into is that some models (in the MD2 format), but not all, seem to have triangles with unshared edges. These edges don't cause noticable seems when the object is rendered, but they are a minor annoyance. I was wondering if anybody who has worked with the MD2 format (this is my first time using it -- and using a different format isn't really an option) could tell me if this is typical? I know that the format doesn't need to make any guarantees that the model is closed, and that these seems could be the product of poor modelling or a poor exporter; I don't really want to put the blame there, though, unless I have good reason to. I am getting my test models from the Polycount website. The relevant code looks like this:
struct AdjacencyInfo
{
  int  neighbor[3];
};

typedef std::vector< AdjacencyInfo >  AdjacencyTable; 

AdjacencyTable BuildAdjacencyTable(const MD2Model &source)
{
  // -1 means "no triangle shares this edge"
AdjacencyInfo   empty = { {-1,-1,-1} };
AdjacencyTable  table;

// Resize and fill the table with dummy adjacency information.
  table.resize(source.GetTriangleCount());
  std::fill(table.begin(),table.end(),empty);

// For each triangle...
  for(int i = 0; i < source.GetTriangleCount(); ++i)
  {
  MD2Model::Triangle  t = source.GetTriangle(i);

// For each edge...
    for(int j = 0; j < 3; ++j)
    { 
      // The edge on t is from p0 to p1. On the adjacent
      // triangle (if any), that edge will be p1 to p0.
      // Find and store that triangle index.