• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Class Naming

This topic is 4748 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have to admit that I am not very good at creating good names for my classes (yet). When I think of a good name, I look at the following: Is it clear? Is the purpose of the class communicated through the name? Is it consise? (Network vs NetworkObject) Is it short and easy to type? Specifically, I am having trouble deciding on a name for the following class: A pure virtual base that contains a message handler and which specific classes are derived. The base class is not a message handler itself, it HAS a message handler, so obviously that is out. I could go for a name like Receiver or Dispatcher, but I feel like that is too vague. The primary purpose of the class is to allow for Network Messaging, so I feel like Networking should be incorporated in the name, but I don't like just shoving "Network" infront of another word to accomplish that (eg: NetworkDispatcher, NetworkEntity, ...) Maybe someone else has come to a similar dilema in the past and created an elegant solution to the naming problem that just eludes me... Obviously this is hardly a critical decision, but It would seem like effective class naming is one of the more important skills to develope sooner rather then later.

Advertisement
- If this is C++, you can end the name in 'Interface' to indicate that the class is pure virtual.

- If you don't feel like using prefixes such as 'Network', you can always use namespace partitioning, so you class ends up in namespace 'Network' or 'Net' or some similar.

- If your base pure virtual class doesn't do anything beyond message handling, you can make it just Net::MessageHandlerInterface or something like that.