Sign in to follow this  
silvermace

OpenGL Direct3D 8: Copy Back buffer to Texture.

silvermace    634
Hi all, I'm an OpenGL programmer (and have been all my life), but this current project means I have to use Direct3D 8.1 (ie. Not 9+) I am currently trying to copy the current back-buffer surface to a texture, but its not at all working. I dont want to re-render my entire scene to a texture, just copy whats on the back-buffer to a texture then present it on a screen-aligned quad. I first got a wierd texture whcih seemed to be sceene related (colors changed etc) but now i currently (with a bit of fiddling) get nothing, and its laggy, somthing aweful! Currently quad doesnt even show up on screen, even with the null texture, any help would be appreciated! here is my code thus far: header:
class G13_PostProcessor
{
	// for the screen aligned quad
	LPDIRECT3DVERTEXBUFFER8	m_VB;
	LPDIRECT3DINDEXBUFFER8	m_IB;

// render target textures
	LPDIRECT3DTEXTURE8 m_ScreenTexture;
	LPDIRECT3DSURFACE8 m_ScreenSurface;

LPDIRECT3DTEXTURE8 m_ScreenTextureTemp1;
	LPDIRECT3DSURFACE8 m_ScreenSurfaceTemp1;

LPDIRECT3DTEXTURE8 m_ScreenTextureTemp2;
	LPDIRECT3DSURFACE8 m_ScreenSurfaceTemp2;

DWORD m_Height;
	DWORD m_Width;
	DWORD m_Format;

// shaders that we will be using
	DWORD m_ShaderVSDefault;
	DWORD m_ShaderPSBlurX;
	DWORD m_ShaderPSBlurY;
	DWORD m_ShaderPSCombine;

bool isInitialized;

public:
	G13_PostProcessor();
	virtual ~G13_PostProcessor();

virtual void Init( LPDIRECT3DDEVICE8 d3dDevice, DWORD height, DWORD width );
	virtual void UpdateRTT( LPDIRECT3DDEVICE8 d3dDevice, LPDIRECT3DSURFACE8 srcSurf );
	virtual void Render( LPDIRECT3DDEVICE8 d3dDevice );
};

implementation:

#include "G13_PostProcess.h"
#include <d3dx8.h>

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
//constants
#define D3DFVF_CUSTOMVERTEX	(D3DFVF_XYZ | D3DFVF_TEX1)

//structures
struct VERTEX_XYZUV
{
	float x, y, z;
	float u, v;
};

VERTEX_XYZUV quadVerts[] =