Vertexbuffer manipulation

Started by
3 comments, last by Gruik 18 years, 10 months ago
Hello, [i've posted this on "Beginners" forum a few days ago, but no answer] I'm a DirectX newbie that made some test handling vertices and a few questions went to me : 1) If i want to move a vertex, do i really need to repopulate entirely the vertexbuffer? Do i really need to recreate a vertex array and putting this array in the vertexbuffer doing this (c#) : GraphicStream stm = vb.Lock (0, 0, 0); stm.Write (myArrayOfVertices); vb.UnLock(); ? Can't i get one vertex in the vertexbuffer and change only one proprety (a coordinate, for exemple) ? 2) Should i use 1 vertexbuffer for each of my primitive? And then print them like this : device.SetStreamSource(0, vb1, 0); device.DrawPrimitives(PrimitiveType.TriangleFan, 0, 3); device.SetStreamSource(0, vb2, 0); device.DrawPrimitives(PrimitiveType.TriangleList, 0, 7); .. ? Or should i put all my vertices in a single VB and deal with index/offset/number of primitives (or things like that) ? 3) I've noticed a device can be "reset", making the vertexbuffer recreated. This happen when the client area is resized. Does this happen in other situations? Which other events should i take care? Thanks
Advertisement
hi,

1) of course you can only update 1 vertex. You seem to be using Managed DirectX, and I only know standard DirectX, but it's something like that :

VERTEX *vertex; // custom vertex format
vb->Lock(0, (void **)&vertex, 0, 0);
vertex[10].position = D3DXVECTOR3(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f); // update the 10th vertex
vb->Unlock();

2) No fixed rule here. If each primitive is pretty small, you better batch them into 1 bigger primitive. Usually, it's said that the optimial size of a batch (vb / ib) is around 1k (in memory size) ... you can do some tests to find that out, but usually, the rule is to avoid small batches (under 100 faces)

3) Hmm I don't really concern myself with that, I let the SDK framework handle that for me ^^