Sign in to follow this  
cao_vadio

Linux graphical programming anyone?

Hi everyone, first let me say i'm sorry if for any reason this has been asked before but it seems the search is temporarily disabled. I have some c++ programming experience mostly from small personal programs and i have switched to Linux operating system about a year ago, until now i have been doing mostly non-graphical programs with only console output and so, but i am interested in begin developing more graphical stuff. I know there are a lot of libraries that can make me jump right into the programming without really needing to understand how X-Server works and so, but i wanted to get my hands dirty, learning the basics of X like window creation and event-handling, I guess for that i must go inside Xlib and Xt, so if someone knows some decent sources of information or has worked on these things please let me now. Also, if someone is kind enough to talk about these matters online please send me a PM and we can exchange MSN or ICQ contacts. Thanks in advance for any help. Cheers cao_vadio

If your using OpenGL, there is the GLX library which is opengl API for creating windows and the such in xwindows.
I haven't used it personally so I don't know if it is low level enough for you though :P
But it might be good even as a reference if you can get your hands on the source for it :)

Quote:
Original post by Anonymous Poster
here's a reference manual for xlib:

http://doc.ddart.net/unix/x/xlib/

woah! i would suggest SDL for all your cross-platform OpenGL input handling needs.

Another option is the Daedalus engine (see sig).

If I need help on X11 programming, I usually type in the function name in google and take the first result. It usually leads to tronche.com, so if you google with 'functionname site:tronche.com' you'll always find the correct page. Those pages are more of a reference, so you'll need to know the function name already, or something similar to it to find anything.