• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

DirectInput and Speed

This topic is 4710 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm new to DirectX, mostly because my school taugh Java and Java only. Now, I'm converting a game I made in Java as a project into a full fledged 3D game with DirectX. Right now my big problem is slowing the program down. I'm starting on the menu system, but 1 keypress acts like 8 or 9. I could just add a big slow for loop, but that's not proper programming practices. Is there a way to have the input reacted upon on frame and not multiple frames? I can't seem to find anything about this type of problem, but maybe I've missed it. So sorry in advance if I'm reposting about it. Replies for be most welcomed. Thanks. Raikan

Advertisement
This seems like an odd problem did you check the directx sdk? If you follow there example of how to setup direct input for keyboard device, it will work with virtually no lag; assuming its setup correctly.

/*The solution is simple: take a double buffer and check the state of the previous frame tick.*/

char Buffer[256], PrevBuffer[256];

/*Every frame*/
memcpy(PrevBuffer, Buffer, sizeof(Buffer));
YourDirectInputDevice->GetDeviceState(Buffer, sizeof(Buffer));

/*checking the state of a key work in this way*/
#define CHECK_KEY_STATE(key) ((Buffer[key] & 0x80)&&(!(PrevBuffer[key] & 0x80)))

/*with this algorythm if you press a key at time T the system will catch only the T time key press all others will be ignored because of the check on PrevBuffer wich hold the key state of the previous frame*/

DevLiquidKnight, my DirectInput setup is pretty well a direct copy of the SDK's example. Still too fast.