• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
benzwong

Java to Visual C++ .NET 2003

This topic is 4888 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys, I'm a java programmer in school for 2 years already. I can say I'm at an intermediate level, where i've already learnt execptions, file i/o, data structures and even java 3D. However, going into my final year of studies, i needed to do some mini games for an external client. The client's game development environment is Visual Studio .NET 2003, and the language is C++. Do you guys out there have any good sites/articles on conversion from java to C++? I know a little bit of C++ and have a basic book about it at home, but I would love to have some sample codes or articles on what to take note when converting from java to C++ programming. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
You probably wont finding anything like that, in anycase most material online about C++ is very poor. I don't think you need an article like that just learn C++ and the C++ standard library properly and you should know what to do.

You should also realize that any syntactic similarity between the two is where it ends, they really are completely different and you will need to change your mind-set quite abit for C++. What i'm saying is it is not going to be an easy ride as it may appear to be.

One of the more significant differences between the two is java is biased towards reference semantics while C++ is biased towards value semantics and favours the static type system. Another obvious one is Java is in a managed environment alot of stuff is taken care for you while standard C++ is unmanaged.

Don't let comments like "C++ is just C with OO" fool you either because its rubbish these two are quite distinct aswell.

I suggest as you have programming experience, you obtain a bible book: