• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ey-Lord

OpenGL [newbie question ] spin'

This topic is 4827 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello guys , i just started 3D opengl( i used 2D b4 ) . I'm just learning the basic . I 've built a pyramid ( 4 triangles / 1 quad ) . I'm able to rotate it around an axis ; but i cnt find how i can rotate it on itself . I mean : My camera is on (0,0,10) The top of my pyramid is facins the camera , the root is on the (x0z ) plane . I want that my pyramid's top STAY where it is ; and taht the 4 triangles rotate around an Y axis . i hope you understand what i mean ;o) any ideas ?

Advertisement
Many times it's simply an order-of-operations thing. Try flipping the order of your translates and rotates an see if you get the desired results. It takes a while to get comfortable with it, but there is a rhyme and a reason to the way things happen.

i understand what u say , but i cant find what i want :/

im using

glTranslatef(-2,0,0);
glRotatef(rtri,0,1,0);
// the drawing of my triangles

i tried to swap those ... doesnt worked .

glRotate commands rotate around whatever the current origin is
perhaps do
glPushMatrix()
glLoadIdentity();
glTranslate( center of triangle )
glRotate(..)
glPopMatrix()

i just tried something different ( if think your method will get the same result )

i just rewrote my pyremid coordinate so that the center is around the Y axe ( b4 she was elswhere on the screen ) ...
thx anyway ill try that too .

so the pyramid would look like this, seen from the camera?

----
|\ /|
| \/ |
| /\ |
|/ \|
----

then you should rotate around the z-axis I think

Quote:
Original post by zedzeek
glRotate commands rotate around whatever the current origin is
perhaps do
glPushMatrix()
glLoadIdentity();
glTranslate( center of triangle )
glRotate(..)
glPopMatrix()