• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
redragonman

Beginning in C++

This topic is 4741 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, Awile ago I started programming in C++. Other than html it is the only language I can do anything in. I am lost because I can make text based games in dos but, I mean really, Who can truthfully say that the most fun game they ever played was text based? I want to make a 2d non-text based game for Windos-XP. My book dosn't tell me how. I was wondering if anyone could PLEASE point me in the right direction or give me some advice. It would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for any advice given. (helpful or otherwise)

Advertisement
I've heard some good things about Allegro and SDL. Microsoft's GDI+ might also be something to check out. Other options would be to use MS's original GDI, which is getting kinda old and ugly, or the more complicated options of using Direct3D or OpenGL. Whatever you choose though, it'll almost definitely be some library of some form or another that you'll need to download and learn to use.

It's all well and good to try and be helpful to this person and answer the question, but I think you guys are just giving him ammo to shoot himself with. redragonman, it doesn't sound like you are quite ready to take that big leap yet, and I would suggest that you spend a little bit more time on text based programs. Tic tac toe is often suggested, and you could try making the very best text based tic tac toe game that you can, for example. If you jump right into graphics programming armed with only, as you described, text based games and html experience, you could be in for a lot of discouragement. It takes time and effort to become a good programmer, what's the rush? I tried to rush myself long ago, and I quit programming for a lot of years because it was so discouraging.