• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Checking for a Winner - Tic Tac Toe [SOLVED]

This topic is 4616 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm fairly new to C++ programming, but know a bit, so I took the advice of the many experienced programs I saw and decided to make a simple game - a console-based Tic Tac Toe in C++. Everything works properly except for detecting whether or not there is a winner, and if there is a winner, who the winner is (X or O). Right now the game is simply 2 player - there is no option to play the computer or AI. Here is the code that I am currently using (unsuccessfully):
bool GameClass::IsWin()
{

if ((board[1][1] == board[1][2] && board[1][2] == board[1][3] && board[1][1]!=' ')||
(board[1][1] == board[2][1] && board[2][1] == board[3][1] && board[1][1]!=' ')||
(board[1][3] == board[2][3] && board[2][3] == board[3][3] && board[1][3]!=' ')||
(board[3][1] == board[3][2] && board[3][2] == board[3][3] && board[3][1]!=' ')||
(board[1][3] == board[2][2] && board[2][2] == board[3][1] && board[1][3]!=' ')||
(board[1][1] == board[2][2] && board[2][2] == board[3][3] && board[1][1]!=' '))
   { 
      GameClass::Winner(); return true;
   }
   else return false;
}

GameClass::Winner() knows which player has just placed a mark on the board, so it can then return a "player ID" (a 1 or 2) as well as setting the boolean value "winner" to "true" which triggers my game loop to break. This is seen here:
void GameLoop(void)
{
     while (!game.IsWin() && game.turns < 10)
     {
           game.PrintBoard();
           game.GetInput();
           if(game.IsSpotTaken(game.row, game.col))
           { game.AlreadyTakenErr(); game.GetInput(); }
           game.PlaceMark(game.row, game.col, game.id);
           game.IsWin();           
     }  

if (game.turns < 10)
     {