• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
appel

Yes! I'm new and I love it!

This topic is 4886 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Just stopping by to say "hey". I'm new to game graphics, but I'm looking forward to learning this stuff. I got no big ideas like creating a game, maybe just yet, but rather to learn the basics, the concepts, and a grain of math. I've already taken discrete mathematics and linear algebra courses in my university, and have good programming skills, such as C#, Java, C++, PHP, Perl etc. Hopefully I can put my experience into some use. I've never done any 3d programming, so these are my first steps. I've already been taking a look at Microsoft's Managed DirectX, using C#, and it looks promising. Although I've been "warned" that C++ is a lot better for game development, my intentions are not to create a game, but rather get some demo's running, using MDX. Hopefully when I know enough, I can make a choice to either stay with C#MDX or move to C++. But for now, I like the simplicity of C# and I'm going to start with it. Any advices are welcomed, hints on books, links, etc.

Advertisement
Alright, I found a very nice page:
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/start_here/

Good job on this web site, I think I'm going to learn a lot in here.

There's also some very good information in the For Beginners FAQ, although it depends on what specifically you're looking for as to whether it will be useful to you. I'd highly recommend a look at the FAQ and Sticky threads in any other forum you have an interest in here as well, they tend to have some very good information.

I have a question, it might sound stupid, but here it goes.

What is OpenGL and DirectX?

I believe I know what those are, based on my assumptions they are API that enable the programmer to easily "talk" to the hardware (GPU).