• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
clumsy begginer

looking for software

This topic is 4884 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, programming community! My user name explains it all: I'm just a beginner without a clue searching for some advise and understanding. I'm interested in making interactive board type games -very, very simple interactive board games, 2D graphics and so on-. I'm looking for software that could help me out a bit. Do you know any program out there for people like myself? Thank you, I'm really desperate!

Advertisement
Well, to make any kind of game, you need to know some kind of programming.

If you want to learn something which is industry standard, and has transferable skills, learn C or C++. You can create C and C++ programs using a great little program called Dev C++, and it's free. You can program games in C and C++ by using "libraries" such as SDL (what I'm using - it's great and easy) or Allegro, and do advanced 3D graphics using things like OpenGL, or more complicated games libraries such as Microsoft's DirectX, which can do basically everything. Warning - for a beginner programmer, DirectX in particular will be way too advanced for you.

If you want to learn something a little easier, try Python. I haven't tried it myself, but people think very highly of it, and it's apparently quite easy for a beginner. PyGame is the main one used for games in Python, I'm told.

C/C++, Python etc. are powerful languages that can be used for almost any purpose besides making games.