• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sylon

Characters jumping over 2D isometric objects?

This topic is 4880 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

In a previous post I declared I was a newbie and that's cool with me. I want to learn programming one way or another, typically starting with easy languages like BASIC. Currently I know basically very little and I am currently going to learn DarkBASIC starting this week but I want to get some things straight, even though. I BELIEVE (though I am program-dumb) that my question is difficult to answer! My question is about 3D space within a 2D ISO game. I want to make objects (cubical, spherical, irregular like trees) that are able to be *jumped over* by characters. So, the sprite image of the character has to be able to be drawn to screen by priority in front of and behind the same object, depending on whether he is on a tile below the object, or a tile above it, at given times, right? So when he jumps, he automatically transfers from being either above the object to below it, or below the object to above it (which should trigger the priority of the tiled object to be drawn to screen before and/or after the character's "jumping" sprite). I have seen dynamic objects go "behind" ISO objects before in games, so obviously I'm not that dumb--I know it can be programmed. Take a look at what I want my game to be able to do in regards to characters jumping over isometric objects. Jumping in Isometric 2d Basically, take iso objects of all heights and sizes and shapes and pretend a character can jump over it, under it, around it, etc. from ALL angles in 3D space. All I want to know for this part is, is it possible to code this into an isometric 2D game? You DON'T have to explain to me how to do it, I will find out in the future--currently I might not be able to grasp it. All I want to know is if