• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
harnacks

Thoughs on Game Engineering

This topic is 4788 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I began with OpenGL about 6 months ago, and I've come a long way. I've been programming C++ for about 5 yrs now, and I've come even furher there. I've been making console games for a long time and I'm ready to give them a 3d face, my problem is I'm having trouble visualizing that concept. Let me explain myself. In a physics simulation, one mass is struck by another user controlled mass, and the resulting Vectors for direction, velocity, and acceleration are shown until both masses come to a rest. How do I take an instance of my Mass class... and use its Position vector to generate a 3d position, specifically.. how do I take hard coded vertex points of something like a cube out of a 3 point Mass-Position vector, considering the position is an x y and z, while the vertex list for a cube is 24 points, all with normals. I'm having trouble uderstanding the relationship between what is computed, and what is draw, and how opengl and the rest of my program can communicate.

Advertisement
In short, how do I make physics for my game.

To correct but just one thing that you said, you do not have a mass class. All mass is, is a value. It defines the mass of an object.

Really, this is a subject that is a bit too big just to answer. [google] a few physics engines/simulations for an idea of how to implement physics into what you want to use it for.

Take a look at ODE. It is an open source dyanimcs engine that does all this stuff. As rpg_code_master has said, it is really a big answer, so sorry I have nothing specific. I have used ODE though another wrapper and it does work realistically, it's just a matter of going though all the code and figuring out what's going on. Good luck!