• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
matt_j

Got a Dreamcast...

This topic is 4879 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So, I just blew a bunch of money on a Sega Dreamcast, and now I'd like to start development. I'm horribly discouraged right now, as burning CDs for the DC have resulted in useless pieces of plastic - even after following the instructions. I know PnP Bios is into this... I'd like to build up some good knowledge base for people as well, but I'm an awful newbie at the moment.

Advertisement
Wow, that's a lot of pop-unders, even for Firefox.

I'll be ordering a coder's cable soon.

You can mod the DC to be able to read normal CD's.
I read up on it a while ago (but didn't have the guts to actually do it), but it seemed simple enough.
Basically just open the case, and adjust a single screw a bit to tweak the laser.

You don't need to mod the dreamcast for it to be able to read CDs, unless you mean CD-RWs. (this might be different in the US, if I recall correctly, all european dreamcasts will run CDs fine, but some of the newer US versions won't)

I have the same problem burning CDs though, I couldn't get any of them to work, unless it was an ISO I had downloaded. I take it you're trying to make a CD from scratch rather than using an ISO image?

Eventually, I found a fantastic program called dir2boot, that makes a nero image out of a directory. That works fine, as long as you've got your elf scrambled, and everything else done properly. Saved me from creating a lot of coasters. I burned the latest version of dc-load-ip with it, and it works perfectly.

Here is a link, but it should be easy enough to find on google, should things go wrong.