• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Puppet

Inheriting interface implementations

This topic is 4732 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I must say I'm not too good at the specifics of C++. If I have some pure virtual interfaces that most of my objects will inherit (faking my own COM like system). Many of the object implementations of these interfaces will be identical. So I'd like to reuse some common code somehow. Simplified it looks something like this:
// COM-like base interface that all objects inherit
class IUnknown
{
public:
virtual bool AddRef() = 0;
//.. queryinterface etc

};

// An IEntry interface has some database like functionality
class IEntry : public IUnknown
{
public:
virtual u32 ID() = 0;
//.. other stuff
};

// An interface to do some rendering
class IView : public IEntry
{
public:
virtual void Render() = 0;
//.. etc
};

// This is some common code, implementing some stuff that
// won't really differ much between objects
class EntryDefImpl
{
protected:
u32 m_id;
public:
u32 ID() { return m_id; }
//..etc
};

// My final object, implementing all remaining functionality
// of the interfaces
class MyView : public EntryDefImpl, public IView
{
public:
void Render();
//.. more code and specifics here
};