• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
wease

Anyone know why I get an error when using GetDC on a backbuffer?

This topic is 4816 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am getting an ERR_INVALIDCALL error when I call GetDC. I've tried with the endscene after the getdc call as well. Makes no difference. I'm still a beginner with directx so this error might be really obvious. Here is my code ... gD3dDevice->EndScene(); IDirect3DSurface9 *BackBuffer; gD3dDevice->GetBackBuffer(0,0,D3DBACKBUFFER_TYPE_MONO,&BackBuffer); HDC hdc; BackBuffer->GetDC(&hdc); ... Any ideas what the problem is?

Advertisement
From the SDK Docs:
Quote:
The following restrictions apply.

IDirect3DSurface9::GetDC is valid on the following formats only: D3DFMT_R5G6B5, D3DFMT_X1R5G5B5, D3DFMT_R8G8B8, and D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8. Formats that contain Alpha are not supported because the Microsoft Windows Graphics Device Interface (GDI) implementations don't have a well-defined behavior on the alpha channel. For more information about formats, see D3DFORMAT.
Only one device context per surface can be returned at a time.
IDirect3DSurface9::GetDC will fail if the surface is already locked. If the surface is a member of a mipmap or cubemap, IDirect3DSurface9::GetDC fails if any other mipmap or cubemap member is locked.
IDirect3DSurface9::GetDC fails on render targets unless they were created lockable (or, in the case of back buffers, with the D3DPRESENTFLAG_LOCKABLE_BACKBUFFER flag).
For surfaces not created with IDirect3DDevice9::CreateOffscreenPlainSurface, IDirect3DSurface9::GetDC will fail on default pool (D3DPOOL_DEFAULT) surfaces unless they are dynamic (D3DUSAGE_DYNAMIC) or are lockable render targets.
IDirect3DSurface9::GetDC will fail on D3DPOOL_SCRATCH surfaces.

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information