Sign in to follow this  
necreia

Dynamic data loading in C++

Hello, this is a hard question to word correctly. I've been working with C++ for many years, and have always found a way 'around' this problem. I'm working on a custom model structure that supports animation through bones. However the problem I have is, loading / saving and working with a dynamic file size. In the past when I wanted to make something, I created a structure that was large enough to hold as big as it will ever be (like a map that could have up to 256x256 tiles on it, I would just save 256x256 and have the unused ones empty). I've always relied on fstream and loaded the data into a prebuilt structure. The question is, if I load this file into memory (for example, into a BYTE* pObject), how do I say, copy the first 64 bytes into 1 variable, then the next 32 bytes into a second variable. I know how to use the copymemory function, but is there a way to set the starting byte offset? Also, for this type of thing, is fstream the way to go? Thanks in advanced!

Quote:
Original post by necreia
In the past when I wanted to make something, I created a structure that was large enough to hold as big as it will ever be.

You can load data into a std::vector or std::deque that will grown as the data comes in. No more worrying about data sizes. It is particularly simple if you use a stream iterator (like std::istreambuf_iterator - suitable for loading raw bytes) since you can just pass them to the container constructor (or assign member function).

#include <fstream>
#include <iterator>
#include <deque>

std::ifstream ifs("map.bin",std::ios::binary);
std::istreambuf_iterator<char> begin(ifs);
std::istreambuf_iterator<char> end;

std::deque<char> map_data(begin, end);

The data is then all in memory and you can do whatever you want with it.