Sign in to follow this  
ElectroDruid

Joint constraints for ragdoll physics

ElectroDruid    122
Hello, I'm wondering if anyone can point me to any good (preferably readable - I'm a half decent coder but not a hardcore mathematician) resources on ways to implement constraints for joints and hinges in ragdoll physics. Also, to see if anyone can point out the stupid mistakes I'm making with my current code. I'm fooling about with a simple ragdoll physics system based on Thomas Jakobsen's Verlet integration system (I can dig out a link to the paper if anyone hasn't seen it). So far I've been pretty pleased with what the Verlet system can do - I've modelled cloths, ropes, rigid boxes, so I built a ragdoll model. I'm working in 2D for now, to keep things simple. I'm having problems working out joint constraints to keep the model's elbows and knees etc from rotating all the way round and doing other weird stuff. So let's same I've got 3 particles at 2D positions point1, point2 and point3. point2 is a pivot point so I want to make sure point1 and point3 do sensible things relative to it. Every time I iterate through the function to satisfy all the particle constraints, after I've applied all the other constraints to the particles, I test the angle between the sticks:
Vector2f v0 = (point1 - point2).Norm();
Vector2f v1 = (point1 - point2).Norm();
F32 invCos = v0.Dot(v1);
F32 theta = acosf(invCos);
If the angle between them is too small, I can get away with an arbitrary little hack to moves point1 and point3 away from each other. You'll remember that with the Verlet scheme you don't so much apply forces to particles as just move them where you want them and let the integration deal with the wider results.
if (theta < 0.1f)
{
	// Cheesy hack
	Vector2f diff = point1 - point3;
	diff /= 2.0f;
	point1 += diff;
	point3 -= diff;
}