• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
littlekid

Method to render the BSP in directx

This topic is 4818 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I am new to using directx to render a BSP tree. This is what i did. Before Game Loop: 1. I created the BSP tree using the index as I thought creating many duplicate vertex would cost alot of memeory. 2. After the BSP tree is created, i load the vertex buffer with the vertex. During Game Loop: 1. I check whether the eye is infront or behind the splitting plane then i tranverse down the tree pushing the index at the nodes into a - vector<WORD> index. 2. After the tranversal is done, I create the index buffer using the vector<WORD> index, then i draw the scence. Next I destroy the index buffer and prepare for the next loop. I am rendering using default_interval. Is this the correct method? I rendered the mesh car.x from the Directx SDK sample mesh and the fps was at 12-15. Is this normal or am i doing it wrongly?

Advertisement
From your description, I'd be saying it's your usage of std::vector and IB's that's killing you.

Creating/recreating resources inside a game loop is never a good idea, sometimes you have no choice, but for the most part you can (and should) avoid it.

The simple thing here is to change your index buffer so that it's dynamic (D3DUSAGE_DYNAMIC iirc) and of a size that you think can store all your data (usually making it a bit bigger is okay) and then use the Lock() mechanisms to just overwrite data each frame.

overwriting the data each frame is still not necessarily the quickest option, but it'll definitely be faster than what you've currently got. If you can, try and "dump" your data from system memory to the IB instead of copying per-element in a loop.