• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
QuadMV

Terrain texture blending

This topic is 4926 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, I know this might be a soar subject for some, since it’s been talked about soo many times on so many different threads. I apologize if I offend anyone by asking the same thing over again. I’ve been programming for over 30 years. I use to do DirectX as a hobby, but have been away from it for a number of years. I’m trying to get back into it, and I’m taking a 3rd crack at trying to nail my terrain system. At this point, I still have some problems with texture rendering/blending, and although there are a lot of posts most of the time I don’t understand the technical details being discussed and I am therefore hoping a kind individual would be willing to share some conversation either over email or ICQ, or this form is fine too. My previous work can be seen at http://www.3dmuve.com, but I’ve not touched it in a couple of years. Two of my questions are as follows: 1. I’ve seen discussions about using multi-pass and using a weight for the alpha blending on the vertices. Does this mean the textures are all solid (no alpha channel in the texture itself), and the alpha is defined as part of the DirectX vertex within the vertex buffer? My vertex currently looks something like this: #define D3DFVF_TERRAINVERTEX (D3DFVF_XYZ|D3DFVF_DIFFUSE|D3DFVF_TEX1) If so, does this also imply different vertex buffers for each pass, since the alpha would be different for each pass? If so, isn't that a lot of video memory? Is it safe to assume most people have 128+ meg and probably isn't worth worrying about? 2. Although my textures are tile-able, due to patterns in the texture, I’m still getting a very blocky looking affect on my terrain (no version). Are there textures that don’t produce this artifact, or are there othe