• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
red-dragonX

trying to set up ClanLib

This topic is 4726 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hey guys, i may just get serious flack for this, but i'm a newb at this. haven't programmed in a few months and never really have programmed a game. last (fall) semester, someone recommended me ClanLib (his demo is up at the site), and since he knew i was interested in game programming, he recommended it to me. anyway, here i am, a few months later, trying to set it up. i just got done installing MS Visual C++ 6.0 Introductory Edition, as well as Service Pack 5 for it. the service pack 5 and Platfrom SDK (at http://www.microsoft.com/msdownload/platformsdk/sdkupdate) are 'requested' (within the Installation tutorial). however, when i go to the SDK link, it says the page has moved and takes me to 'Windows® Server 2003 SP1 Platform SDK Web Install' page. all was dandy and i was about to download it when i noticed this further down on the page: "This SDK does not support working with Microsoft Visual C/C++®, 6.0 as support for VC 6.0 has ended." and then directs me to a page where i can order a previous SDK version on a cd that would work with MSVC 6.0 (i guess). well, i really don't want to wait for this... so uh any suggestions as to what i should do now? another question... i mentioned i was using the MS Visual C++ 6.0 Introductory Edition. is this sufficient for me as a beginner? i plan on doing the tutorials that the ClanLib lists on its site. any thoughts/opinions? i haven't really used MSVC (we use Unix at the university and diff. compilers). keep in mind that i'm a total noob and plan on learning game programming over the summer (a good start at least!) thanks in advance!

Advertisement