• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
MeeZ

Newbie Question

This topic is 4875 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

G'day peoples, O.k. I hope no one is going to bite my head off for this, but i was hoping that someone could please point me in the direction of a source of information on how to build ODE (or make my own application that uses ODE) in DevC++. I am just starting out with ODE and am still finding it a bit tricky, and there seem to be a complete lack of information for it on the net. But, I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction... I just don't want to ust VC++ if i can help it. Thanks for any help you can offer, and for putting up with what is probably a painful question. Cheers, MeeZ

Advertisement
There are a bunch of demos with source code in the ODE package which shows how to use it. Just ignore the Drawstuff lib as it's only has to do with the graphics (ODE makes a ball bounce while Drawstuff lets you see the ball on screen). Just play around with the demos for a while and you'll get the hang of it.

You must use VC++ in order to play with the demos. And when you feel confi with ODE you should go a head with a small test using DevC++

Surely there has to be a way to build it in DevC++. Someone must have done it. Not everyone uses pirated copies of VC++ for their dev. Is there a custom makefile or something out there that someone has created for making your own projects using DevC++ and ODE??

Well, thanks again for your comments, I appreciate the help.

Cheers.

ofcourse it should work with DevC++ ...just link the .lib file and you're done. The reason to why you should play with the vc++ demos is so you'll learn what to do with the ODE API.