• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Haytil

[web] Questions about Web Development

This topic is 4726 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm not too experienced with developing websites, and have a few questions. If people could just point me in the right direction (maybe some keywords and things), then I'm sure I could do well learning things on my own. I need to do the following: -Create a website where numbers, values, etc. that are on the parge are easily adjusted, by people who aren't tech-savvy. So if the webpage says: Special Number of the Day: 19 I need someone in charge of the website to easily be able to adjust the value (for example, from 19 to 17) very quickly and without much computer knowledge. (This means that going through the website's code and manually changing the value from 19 to 17 is NOT an option - although, if there exists a means to hold all these special values on one private page/file that are easily adjustable and savable, then that's ok). So after quickly changing the value, the webpage says: Special Number of the Day: 17 Also, this method needs to work not just with numbers, but strings (entire sentences). So where should I look to figure out how to do this? If you can narrow down what I should be looking for, I'd be happy to look around google and such. Thanks. -Gauvir_Mucca

Advertisement
Are you using any server side languages such as PHP, ASP, or CGI? If so, then this is very easy, especially if you are using PHP and XML. You could probabally do the same with pure HTML as well, but first, what kind of software are you working with?

[Edited by - Drew_Benton on June 15, 2005 11:35:57 PM]