hash tables

Started by
7 comments, last by ehmdjii 18 years, 10 months ago
hello, i'm very new to hash tables, but here is what i need: i want to store the an integer into a table and want to index it with two other integers. how would a hash function look like that retrieves this integer based on two others? (i need this to store the index of a new vertex that lies between two other vertices. and to not create this new vertex again from another face i want to look it up in a hashtable if it already exists)
Advertisement
Is this what you're after?

// your point structure (your key of two integers or whatever you like)struct Point{    int x; int y;};// the traits for your point type:class PointTraits{public:    // someone else may be able to give you better values for these    static const size_t bucket_size = 4;    static const size_t min_buckets = 8;    size_t operator()(const Point& k) const    {        return k.x ^ k.y; // this hash function could possibly be better    }    // this is the ordering function    // this must basically be a ordering function that places    // one object clearly in front of another (basically a    // less-than operation).    bool operator()(const AString& k1, const AString& k2) const    {        if(k1.x == k2.x) return k1.y < k2.y;        else return (k1.x < k2.x);    }};// this is the type you use to make it all work:std::hash_map<Point, int, PointTraits> mymap;

That is MSVC-code, you may have to convert it to your own version of the STL (the traits, mostly). It will also Warning-4996 unless you disable that warning or resolve it (I believe by changing std to std_ext).

It's coded off the top of my head as an example, so you may want to fix it a little. Also, see the documentation for hash_map for more detials.
Quote:Original post by Andrew Russell