• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Yamian

Torque Questions

This topic is 4871 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Lately I've been concidering buying the Torque engine, and have some questions, and don't trust the Torque website's answers becasue their vague and will say anything to get you to buy. I want to hear it from my peers. Here are my questions. Is it good?: Will I end up using other libraries and forgetting Torque? Is it fast?: Will my applications get hit with a perfromace problem? Is it worth the money?: Will I wish I just used more time or is it worth the cash? I don't plan to sell what I make so royalty stuff doesn't matter.

Advertisement
My team and I have been working in Torque for several months now and so far we are really impressed with most of what the engine can do.

Whether or not you should get it depends on what kind of game you plan to make, how much experience you have in c/c++ and how much money/time you have to spend.

I would suggest toying around with the free demo for at least a few weeks to see what you can do with it. Half of the power of Torque is its scripting language. Since you said you aren't planning on selling your game you are allowed to download and use the demo of the engine for free. The demo is the same as the retail but doesnt have the engine's sourcecode.

We have found Torque to be very good at fps style games and very easy to get a quick prototype of a game idea up and running. The other nice thing is there are books on torque's scripting language and the private forums and code resources on garagegames are very helpful.

It's well worth the money if you have the extra 100 to spend. Seeing our team all works other jobs full-time and do game dev as a hobby, $100 was no big deal.

What Torque is very good at:
Awesome scripting language