Game programmer with an MBA

Started by
4 comments, last by cbenoi1 18 years, 10 months ago
Hi, I'm planning to enroll at University of Chicago's MBA program starting this fall as a full-time student. Actually, what I want to do is programming (my undergrad degree was in CS), but later in life I may go into management, so I decided to get this degree over with now. (Later I'll be having too much fun developing games to go back to school!) So, fast forward 2 years. I have an CS degree and an MBA and now I'm looking for a job as an entry-level programmer. My question is, do you think the MBA will be seen favorably by employers? Here's some ideas I had, but I'm not sure if this is really how employers would view it: Pros: * I can market my ability to work in a team, and talk about the training I got in B-school, like leadership effectiveness seminars, etc. * U of Chicago is one of the top few business schools Cons: * Even though U of Chicago is well-known among companies who hire MBA's, I don't know if game development companies would know its reputation * Maybe they will see me as a "suit" and not a "developer", and question if I really have any technical skill. Thanks in advance, any input would be greatly appreciated! roos
Advertisement
When hiring an entry level programmer you're generally not looking for a manager. You are looking for a good programmer. When you hire/promote an experienced programmer to a lead position then you might be looking for management ability but not with entry level positions.

An MBA isn't really going to do much to help you get a programming job. You will need strong programming/math/physics and almost certainly a good portfolio of game demos. In fact some interviewers will wonder just how much you love programming if you switched from CS to an MBA. Last thing they want from an entry level coder is a guy who is too busy looking for a way out of programming to get on and learn to actually make games.