• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
hoth

MMORPG and Java

This topic is 4769 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I am really new to the Game development scene and wish to attempt to create one. I am planning on using Java Applets to create a MMORPG with graphics similar to SNES RPG style. This will be ran off of a mySQL database. The problem is that while I am excellent at figuring out what I want to do and the best way to do it. I do not have any official programming experience with Java. I am a very quick learner given the right examples for what I am trying to acomplish. The first step for me is to figure out how to create a map and layer the map using Java. My thought is that I would build the map using a FOR WHILE loop to lay out the images and possitioning as follows: Draw x-column * y-rows where each column is 32 pixels wide and each row is 32 pixels tall. Once this is drawn insert *.img (Which will be a 32x32 pixel .gif or smaller type image.) from .zip or .jar file into (x,y) <--cell. Repeat until the map is drawn visually. Then somehow copy the positioning of this map for each cell (All of the x and y's) and draw the layers above this. One for the boundries and one for the character placement and another for the transparent gifs to create a nifty 2d feel. So that in the end the map will have cordinates of x,y,z where x is the column, y is the row and z is the layer. Any help on how to accomplish this in Java for use with an Applet would be very very much appreciated. Thanks, You may contact me via this board or my AIM address any time: STRaYDoGiNCZ or email at straydoginc@yahoo.com

Advertisement
The project name escapes my memory now, but try searching via Google. I swear I've seen loads of pages that deal with this..