• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
shpen

Interested, Dedicated Beginner

This topic is 4873 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hello, i am a 14 year old living in Columbia, Maryland. i am educated on how to use a computer. i have been playing games for over 10 years. i have just begun to learn ActionScript for flash mx 2004. i am going to take a multitude of computer programming courses over the summer, and in highschool. i was just wondering if the good people here, could inform me on how to begin my future career in this industy. thank you

Advertisement
4 years ago I was in the same position as you (heh). Now I'm getting ready to go off to DeVry for Game and Simulation Programming. To begin with there are 3 simple steps that you should take...

1. READ
2. READ MORE
3. READ IT ALL AGAIN

This will help you immensely, believe me. Since you're learning AS and have been playing games for awhile, I assume you are familiar with basic logic on a decent level; that's good, keep thinking logically. For me, it's not uncommon to break EVERYTHING down into logic, if at least subconsciously, and think about it. Code is logic, learn it, love it, live by it (though it's not as if you couldn't).

Again, reading is good. Buy books on programming, graphics techniques, math, physics, AI, everything. Start off on beginner level books, read them, study the source code, write your own programs.

When you're learning how to do something, it's always a good idea to read source code and come up with your own implementations. Even if it's a simple demo demonstrating some simple AI using little dots, it's a good thing to code, it gives you practice, and it's always fun to see results.