[.net] C# / DX and Books

Started by
11 comments, last by The Koz 18 years, 10 months ago
Ok, so I concluded that I should hop off of the exclusive C programming train and get into some work in C#. I've done some moderate project work in C#, I'm comfortable working in it, and I own (and have read most of) Petzold's Programming Windows with C#. What I'm looking for now are books on Managed DirectX in C#, with special desire for ones that might deal with integrating it into the forms environment (shouldnt be that hard though - should it? - maybe its not difficult enough to bother with putting in a book, i dont know, i havent looked into the matter too extensively). I've never worked with DirectX, and I have some very light experience with OpenGL, so I'd definately classify myself as a beginner in that regard. I'm on somewhat of a budget, being a college student and all that, so I can't go buy every book that might be useful, so I'm looking for some advice from you guys. I was thinking of maybe grabbing one of the following: Beginning 3d Game Programming - Tom Miller Managed DirectX 9 Kickstart - Tom Miller Beginning .NET Game Programming in C# - Weller et al. or Beginning C# Game Programming - Ron Penton What do you guys suggest? Feel free to make suggestions not on the list there too. Thanks.
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by xanin
Ok, so I concluded that I should hop off of the exclusive C programming train and get into some work in C#. I've done some moderate project work in C#, I'm comfortable working in it, and I own (and have read most of) Petzold's Programming Windows with C#.

What I'm looking for now are books on Managed DirectX in C#, with special desire for ones that might deal with integrating it into the forms environment (shouldnt be that hard though - should it? - maybe its not difficult enough to bother with putting in a book, i dont know, i havent looked into the matter too extensively).