Simple questions

Started by
4 comments, last by Replicon 18 years, 10 months ago
Hi! I'm a starting game programmer just wondering about the following things: Which should be handled first, input or AI? Why? And which should be handled first, movement or collision detection? Why?
"I got stuck between levels 4 and 5 and got into this strange place: warp X..."
Advertisement
Quote:Which should be handled first, input or AI? Why?

Hmmm... well... many times both are being called so many times per second that order doesn't really matter. You might even program these two to be asynchronous which means that they run at the same time (dual proc machines of course...)

Quote:Which should be handled first, movement or collision detection? Why?

I'd do collision detection first otherwise you might end up with seeing some going partially through a wall and then bounce back. On the other hand: you might implement a virtual move (not displaying yet) and just before you display check collisions. this might seem right but you have to take into account the speed of movement. Imagine a very fast car that moves 10 meters per frame (very fast) collision detection of just the two positions is not enough: in between these positions a wall could be present so you'd have to check more.

Wow, some questions for a starting programmer...

Cheers
Input/AI - Doesn't matter.

Movement/Collision detection - Movement first (to modify the position based on the input), then collision detection (to correct the position if there is a collision), then rendering (so as not to render from an invalid position).
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." — Brian W. Kernighan
Just to expand a little more on the AI/Input side of things I thought you might like to have a reason why it doesn't really matter which goes first.