• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ermac

[java] Basic Java Resource Questions

This topic is 4719 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have an idea that I want to implement for an online browser game. Would Java be the best language to use or something else (C++,etc). (It would be a continous game like pong or something) I'm still learning PHP, but from my understanding that could only generate turn based games wouldn't it? If I do go with Java does anyone know which Java Programming book would be the best to start off with? My local Barnes & Noble usually has a ton of resources. Also since I have not programmed with Java since my college class with it over a year ago, what is the most recent version that I should be programming for? Thanks, Ermac

Advertisement
The latest Java version is the tiger - 1.5, currently in beta updates. It has some new features such as autoboxing of primitive types, and generics.

A good book for game programming using Java is this one. It covers almost everything you need to know to program commercial quality java games.

AFAIK, an applet could solve your matter at hand without major problems. You might get confused about applet's security issues, concerning the fact there are some restrictions to the operations allowed to them.

Son Of Cain

If the game is simple enough (pong, snake, tetris, etc.) I'd recomend using javascript. Then you don't need to worry about the user having the JRE installed, or bugs because he has the wrong version. It would also probably load a lot faster.

shmoove

Thanks,

I know javascript very well, but I want something more advanced including sprite functionality and stuff. I know there are somethings I could do with javascript but since Java is one of my weak points I need to learn it anyway.