Sign in to follow this  
Chris81

Passing smart pointers to/from DLL

Hello, I have a smart pointer object system in a set of source files considered the "core" package. This set of files is included in two different projects, one an engine DLL, and the other an Application project. Most of the work I have done so far is in the core package testing it via a console window. Now I'm to the point where I want to connect the dll to the app. I have a function exported from the DLL called GetEngine() which returns an exported class, which has functions like Initialize(), SetRenderer(), DrawScene(), etc. I started coding my first function in the exported class which is Initialize() which takes a smart pointer to a Config class. The config class is populated manually through code or by parsing a config file in the game directory. So I have: in DLL Engine class:
bool Initialize( const ConfigPtr &config )
{
	std::cout << config->GetInt( "ScreenWidth" ) << '\n';

return true;
}

in test application:

ConfigPtr config = new Config( "main.cfg" );
engine->Initialize( config );

It works fine, up until the ConfigPtr's destructor, which then decreases the reference count to zero and then deletes the Config object. I get a CrtIsValidHeapPointer() function assert error. I've tried passing config by value also, instead of a const reference. Anybody know why it is doing this? I set a breakpoint, and when it goes to delete the "Autos" tab in the debugger displays the object with correct values, so the object should still exist in memory. I checked to see if it was trying to delete the object twice, and it isn't. hmmm Thanks.

The decontructor is being called in the dll which then tries to delete memory that was allocated by your program which is a nono.

Actually when I set the breakpoint in the destructor the stack trace shows that it's being called from the application.