Sign in to follow this  

"Relative" vertex positions...?

This topic is 4554 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Yeah, so I'm new to all this Direct3D malarky. Essentially I'm trying to get the very basics down, and get a square rendered. I've got it all sorted, so the VertexBuffer carries a four sided shape, with each side having equal length, but when it comes to render it's longer than it is tall. I found out this is because of the dimensions of the window; when I set it to a square window, the shape is displayed square. I'm just trying to get some simple 2D stuff under my belt so I can make a simple Tetris/whatever clone. I've been reading various tutorials, such as Drunken Hyena's page, but I couldn't find specific information on how to get a square to display square. If anyone can forward me to details behind the theory, and/or code that'd be much appreciated. Thanks a lot.

You have to make the aspect ratio of your projection (viewing frustrum) correspond to the aspect ratio of the window. You want to do 2D, so I suppose you use this projection matrix:

link to msdn

If your window has dimensions window_width and window_height, you have to make sure that the w and h parameters of the D3DXMatrixOrthoLH function are created using the following formula:

w/h = window_width / window_height

Obviously, you still have to choose either w or h yourself. The other one can then be computed.

edit:
window_width and window_height, should actually be the dimensions of the client area (the part of the window without borders and title bar). Look at the AdjustWindowRectEx function to create a window with the correct client area size.

Yeah, the msdn link didn't work, I'm assuming cos of their silly frames thing.

But anyway, I tried this:

Quote:

D3DXMATRIX ortho2D;
D3DXMATRIX identity;