3D Transformations into Single Matrix

Started by
10 comments, last by tppramod 18 years, 10 months ago
Hi, i am a beginner in 3D graphics and have learned about various matrix like rotation in X,Y & Z axis, scaling, translation, identity etc. I have also read that these various transformations can be put into a SINGLE MATRIX, which i don't know how to do it? Which one is ideal - doing each transformation one by one and draw to the screen or to convert all the transformations into one matrix and then do the drawing part. i have gone through many tutorials but not getting a clear understanding on this. Can anyone help. Thanks & Regards, Pramod
Advertisement
Combining the transformations for one object into a single matrix is more optimal, because most device can transform the object's vertices for you using this single matrix.

Given three independent transformations, say Tt, Tr and Ts (you may say a translation, a rotation and a scaling matrix) you can combine them using matrix multiplication:
Tw = Ts * Tr * Tt

The obtained matrix Tw is usually called the world matrix for that object. This example assumed 4x4 transformation matrices in all cases. You should be able to find out how matrix multiplication works.

Greetz,

Illco

Matrix Multiplication
Matrix Math
Rotation/scaling, etc, would normaly require 3x3 matrix. However, by using 4x4 matrix (which is normaly used by 3D APIs and hardware), you can create single matrix with multiple transformation. If you have for example rotation and tranlation, and wish to create one matrix, you just have to multiply these two matrices (matrix concatenatation).

R = rotation matrix
T = translation matrix

C = R*T

C - single matrix with all transformations

Order of multiplication IS important. Transformation by matrix from the left is perfomed first, then matrices to right. In above example, vertices (objects)
will be first rotated in and after then they will be translated.
Then just use C matrix for drawing part (single draw).