• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dusik

D3DX 8 -- Is it worth using?

This topic is 6504 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I''d like to hear your opinion on this: I started coding my engine in DX7, and I firmly abstained from using the Framework library. I thought it would be slow, and so I coded all the stuff I needed myself. Basically, I thought I couldn''t fully optimize my engine if I used the Framwork library. Now I''m converting my app to DX8, and it seems that Microsoft is really pushing me to use D3DX. I mean, it''s not fully documented in their SDK, and I can''t find some of the documentation needed to do stuff WITHOUT D3DX... And all the samples use it... What should I do? Is it worth using? Are you all using it? It seems that loading .X files will be a lot easier (if I use D3DX) than loading some other format. Back then I thought of using .3DS or something, but I''m not so sure now. Please let me know what you think, guys I''m the crazy DuSiK! I eat Microshaft for breakfast

Advertisement
Your app will run fine in d3d8 by simply doing this:

if( NULL == ( m_pD3D = Direct3DCreate8( D3D_SDK_VERSION ) ) )
{
MessageBox(NULL,"Cannont create D3D!","Error",MB_OK);
return E_FAIL;
}

HRESULT hr;
D3DDISPLAYMODE d3ddm;
if( FAILED(hr = m_pD3D->GetAdapterDisplayMode( D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, &d3ddm ) ) )
return hr;

// Set present parameters

D3DPRESENT_PARAMETERS d3dpp;
ZeroMemory( &d3dpp, sizeof(d3dpp) );
d3dpp.Windowed = true;
d3dpp.SwapEffect = D3DSWAPEFFECT_DISCARD;
d3dpp.BackBufferFormat = d3ddm.Format;
d3dpp.EnableAutoDepthStencil = TRUE;
d3dpp.AutoDepthStencilFormat = D3DFMT_D16;

// Create the D3DDevice

if( FAILED(hr = m_pD3D->CreateDevice( D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, m_hwnd,
D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING,
&d3dpp, &m_pD3DDevice ) ) )
{