Sign in to follow this  
vbuser1338

[java] Initializing variables

I am just beginning java programming because I want to see what it like compared to c++ and also so I can use it for other programs. I am reading the third edition of thinking in java and when it creates a variable when it initializes it, it will use variable = new...(..). Why this way instead of variable = ... Little example:
class Dog
{
   public String name;
   void Bark() { .... ;}
   Dog() { 
      weight = new String("yes");  // why this instead of below
      weight = "yes";
   }
}

Wouldn't this have to create a new variable and then copy the it to the original variable instead of just assigning it. Sorry if there are any mistakes because I am just learning. Cya, vbuser

I'm not very experienced with java but I believe the reason is because of garbage collecting. new will create a new instance of that type which is than tracked by the built in garbage collector. Just like in C++ where you use new to create a class than delete it later. The java garbage collector takes care of the deletion of the object/variable/class when it goes out of scope.

Firstly, String objects are a bad choice for such an example, as Strings are immutable and behave slightly differently than normal objects.

If you know C++, Java basically works without any kind of stack, and everything done on the heap via new. All 'references' really behave like pointers. Eg:

public class Foo
{
Bar b1;

public Foo()
{
// we don't initialise b1, it becomes assigned 'null'
}

public void baz()
{
Bar b2 = null;
Bar b3 = new Bar(3); // b3 points at Bar(3)
Bar bRef = b3; // Both b3 and bRef point at Bar(3);

In short, there is no implicit contruction and copy contrustion in Java, which is a Good Thing. If you want one, see Object.clone().