Sign in to follow this  
DaphydTheBard

Hello from New Member...and Request for Help Please!

DaphydTheBard    132
Hi all, This is my first post here so please go easy on me. :-) I'm a professional software developer for a living (not that that's really relevant, just by way of introduction) and in my spare time I'm a keen games enthusiast, both playing, and lately, developing my own game engine. I've been working on my engine for about 1 1/2 years now, and it's almost complete. Basically it's written in VB6 using DirectX 7/8. It's a 2d engine at heart, but uses some hybrid 3d stuff in order to have translucent/rotating sprites. This means I can do some cool stuff like smoke and light effects, etc. My problem is this: The engine runs fine in full screen mode, no problems. However if I try to run it windowed, it doesn't work. I don't get any error messages of any kind, it just doesn't do anything, nothing appears in the display window. It's entirely class based and is very easy to read/use. If any one would be prepared to have a look at it for me and figure out why it doesn't work in windowed mode, I'd be eternally grateful. Due to my busy lifestyle if anyone can help, please email me either at daphydthebard@hotmail.com, or at dave@xenex.co.uk Thanks in advance.

Specchum    242
A completely wild guess would be that you haven't overriden the OnPaint method (and even hook the OnResize method for good measure) AND invalidated it? I'm using C# terms but I suppose VB6 will have similar methods...

Moe    1256
I am not quite sure how it works in VB, but try cranking the DirectX debug level up to the max and see if there are any warnings/error messages. If all else fails, throw breakpoints/message boxes throughout the program to see how far it gets before it fails. That might help you to narrow down what specifically is failing.

Allmight    206