Sign in to follow this  
chris_bell

Noob Here, need help with "Guess My Number"

I have just recently purchased Michael Dawson's book, "Beginning C++ Game Programming" but have come to a road block upon completing chapter two. (I have zero previous knowledge of any programming) In the end of chapter 2, one of Dawson's exercises is as follows: "3. Write a new version of the Guess My Number program in which the player and the computer switch roles. That is, the player picks a number and the computer must guess what it is." On his CD, Dawson supplies the code for the OPPOSITE program (where the user guesses the computer's number). I'm trying to rearrange steps and place the user in the computer's shoes, though I'm stumped...Here's what I _THINK_ I know... -------------------- 1. I need to have the user input an integer number to be guessed... "cin >> theNumber;" 2. I need to have the computer choose random numbers using the "rand()" 3. I need to use a 'do' accompanied by a series of 'if's...the loop must wait for the user to hit enter (or some key), then the computer will choose a random number from say...1-100. If the number is too low, it gives the computer a message saying so, same with if its too High. 4. With each new number guessed, i need to increase the number of tries by 1. ++tries; (where 'tries' is the integer value of the number of tries performed) 5. Need to end loop when computer finds number....also display a "Congrats!" or something -------------------- My biggest problem is understanding how to have the computer "guess" or choose a random number...though I'd like to view the entire program's code Any basic examples of how to accomplish this program are appreciated. This being my first post, I hope not to barge in on this new community if I'm asking too much so soon.... (this post probably could have been alot shorter too lol)

Well, if you want to have the computer guess a random number between 1-100, you would use the rand function like so: